Secondary Navigation

Celebrating 2020-21 Scholarship Award Recipients

Collage of 2020-21 scholarship awardee portraits

The University of Iowa Department of Computer Science recognizes this academic year’s scholarship* recipients, listed below:

Sarah Altermeier portraitSarah Altemeier - Gerard Weeg Scholarship

CS BS Spring '22, Pre-Physical Therapy

"I have extended my summer internship at Open Systems International and will be working there this school year."

Gabriel Douglass portraitGabriel Douglass - Barkmeier-Tice Scholarship

MCS Spring '22

"I received the $2,500 award for good undergraduate performance. At the time I have no future plans besides completing the MCS program in 2022."

Masahiro Kiji Photo in front of Statue of LibertyMasahiro Kiji - Barkmeier-Tice Scholarship

MCS Spring '22

"I got accepted as a RA for CompEpi group here and am working on graph mining with Dr. Adhikari

Levin Leesemann portraitLevin Leesemann - Arthur A. Collins Scholarship

CS BS Spring '22

"I am extremely grateful for the scholarship from Collins Aerospace, as they are a company I look up to and aspire to work for. Being able to focus even more on studying and creating projects that bring me closer to my goal is something I am very thankful for!"

Current position: "Work for the Mobile Technology Lab at the University of Iowa as a Software Development Intern, and have been doing so since the summer of 2020"

Ellie Odole PortraitEllie Odole - David Spang Award

Data Science BS, Mathematics BA Fall '22

“This past summer I worked for Lincoln Financial Group as an Actuarial Intern and currently I am working with the CompEpi research group on campus.”

“Upon graduation I will likely pursue a career in computational epidemiology or attend graduate school to pursue a degree in statistics or simulation science. Thanks to this award, I am one step closer to achieving that goal.”

Daniel Saldana photoDaniel Saldana - Principal Scholars Award

CS BS Spring '23

"I am beyond grateful for this generous award and for supporting my academic career. I will not take for granted or squander the opportunities that I have been given, because I know that some things in life that only come once and I must take grab hold of them while they are here."

Kate Snodgrass portraitKate Snodgrass - Jason & Leslie Weber Scholarship for Women

Public Health BS, Geography BA, CS BA Spring '23

"I felt out of place in computer science classes for a long time, but eventually learned that was mostly in my head and not a good reason to avoid something I find so interesting. However, I think this gender divide can be a huge barrier for many women entering the field, so I am really grateful that Jason and Leslie Weber created a scholarship dedicated to breaking that barrier."

Cameron Trentz portraitCameron Trentz - Frank A. Park Scholarship

CSE BSE Spring '21, ECE MS

"It's an honor to receive the Frank A. Park Scholarship. Thanks to all the donors for their generosity and continued commitment to the University of Iowa Computer Science program.

I worked as an analytics engineering intern at John Deere Intelligent Solutions Group in Urbandale, IA, over the summer. I was also recently accepted into the electrical and computer engineering five-year master’s fast-track program."

The recipient of 2019-20 CS Outstanding TA Award will be announced soon. Stay tuned! [Update: Award recognition now posted here]

* With the generous support of several organizations as well as individuals and family trusts, the Department is able to award 6-10 scholarships per year, usually ranging in value from $1,000 to $5,000. Applications are normally due in late spring, with awards given at the start of the following fall semester. To be eligible for departmental scholarships, students must be a declared Computer Science, Informatics, Computer Science and Engineering, or Data Science major at The University of Iowa. Previous scholarship recipients are eligible to apply.