With the generous support of several organizations, the Department is able to award 6-10 scholarships per year, usually ranging in value from $1,000 to $5,000. Applications are normally due in late spring, with awards given at the start of the following fall semester. To be eligible for departmental scholarships, students must be a declared Computer Science, Informatics, Computer Science and Engineering, or Data Science major at The University of Iowa. Previous scholarship recipients are eligible to apply.

Computer Science

  • Deadline to apply was May 22, 2020
  • 2020-21 Scholarship Application period has closed.

Joseph Barkmeier and Ann Tice Computer Science Scholarship

Two awards of $2,500. This annual scholarship is open to all students, with a preference towards:

  • MCS students
  • Midwestern connection (e.g. K-12 or undergraduate education; employment - IA, IL, MO, NE, SD, MN, WI, KS, IN, MI)

Arthur Collins Scholarship (Collins Aerospace)

One award of $3,000:

  • Awarded on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and personal integrity
  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above
  • Open to an internship or co-op opportunity with Collins Aerospace
  • Preference will be given to Iowa residents and students of diversity
  • Undergraduate (at least sophomore level by Fall 2020) or graduate standing

Frank A. Park Scholarship

One award of $1,500:

  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Graduate or undergraduate standing
  • Preference will be given to students from Woodbury County, Iowa or Rock Island County, Illinois; then to students from Iowa

Principal Scholars Award

One award of $1,000:

  • Current or admitted undergraduate Computer Science major
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above
  • US Citizen or Permanent Resident
  • Preference shall be given to:
    • underrepresented students, students with disability, and/or veterans;
    • students involved and active in leadership roles on and off campus;
    • bi-lingual and multi-lingual students

David Spang Award

David Spang had a talent and love for the field of computer science and worked on top-secret code for naval operations until his untimely death at the age of 24 in January 2004. David was always willing to volunteer his time and was admired for his generous spirit. David was surrounded by a loving family, a brotherhood of fraternity members, many associated on the job, and friends too numerous to count. He is dearly remembered for his compassionate heart, his special talent as a good listener, and his loving devotion to family and friends.

One award of $1,000:

  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Undergraduate standing
  • Well-rounded student

Jason and Leslie Weber Women in Computer Science Scholarship

One merit-based scholarship of $5,000:

  • Awarded to one deserving female student majoring in computer science
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above
  • Demonstrated initiative in projects above and beyond coursework

Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship

One award of $1,500:

  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Graduate or undergraduate standing

Other scholarships and fellowships

2020-21 Scholarship Winners

  • Barkmeier-Tice Scholarship - Masahiro Kiji 
  • Barkmeier-Tice Scholarship - Gabriel Douglass
  • Arthur A. Collins Scholarship - Levin Leesemann
  • Frank A. Park Scholarship - Cameron Trentz
  • Principal Scholars Award - Daniel Saldana
  • David Spang Award - Eldaleona Odole
  • Jason & Leslie Weber Scholarship for Women - Kate Snodgrass
  • Gerard Weeg Scholarship - Sarah Altemeier
  • CS Outstanding TA Award 2019-20 - TBD