With the generous support of several individuals and organizations, the Department is able to award 6-13 scholarships per year, usually ranging in value from $1,000 to $5,000. Applications are normally due in late spring, with awards given at the start of the following fall semester. To be eligible for departmental scholarships, students must be a declared Computer Science, Informatics, Computer Science and Engineering, or Data Science major at The University of Iowa. Previous scholarship recipients are eligible to apply.

Application deadline: May 22, 2022

Joseph Barkmeier and Ann Tice Computer Science Scholarship
Two awards of $2,500. This annual scholarship is open to all students, with a preference towards:

  • MCS students
  • Midwestern connection (e.g. K-12 or undergraduate education; employment - IA, IL, MO, NE, SD, MN, WI, KS, IN, MI)

Arthur Collins Scholarship (Collins Aerospace)
Two awards of $3,000:

  • Awarded on the basis of scholarship, leadership, and personal integrity
  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above
  • Open to an internship or co-op opportunity with Collins Aerospace
  • Preference will be given to Iowa residents and students of diversity
  • Undergraduate (at least sophomore level by Fall 2022) or graduate standing

Frank A. Park Scholarship
One award of $3,000:

  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Graduate or undergraduate standing
  • Preference will be given to students from Woodbury County, Iowa or Rock Island County, Illinois; then to students from Iowa

Principal Scholars Award
Two awards of $3,000:

  • Current or admitted undergraduate Computer Science major
    • Sophomore or Junior status as of Fall 2022
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above
  • US Citizen or Permanent Resident
  • Preference shall be given to:
    • underrepresented students, students with disability, and/or veterans;
    • students involved and active in leadership roles on and off campus.

David Spang Award
David Spang had a talent and love for the field of computer science and worked on top-secret code for naval operations until his untimely death at the age of 24 in January 2004. David was always willing to volunteer his time and was admired for his generous spirit. David was surrounded by a loving family, a brotherhood of fraternity members, many associated on the job, and friends too numerous to count. He is dearly remembered for his compassionate heart, his special talent as a good listener, and his loving devotion to family and friends.

Two awards of $2,000:

  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Undergraduate standing
  • Well-rounded student

Jason and Leslie Weber Emerging Technologies Scholarship Fund

Two merit-based scholarships of $5,000:

  • Awarded to students in the Department of Computer Science who demonstrate merit, interest, and a technical aptitude to study new and emerging technologies (e.g., Artificial Intelligence; Quantum Algorithms)
  • Good academic standing

Jason and Leslie Weber Women in Computer Science Scholarship
One merit-based scholarship of $5,000:

  • Awarded to one deserving female student majoring in computer science
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or above
  • Demonstrated initiative in projects above and beyond coursework

Gerard P. Weeg Scholarship
One award of $2,500:

  • Awarded on the basis of academic achievement
  • Graduate or undergraduate standing

Other scholarships and fellowships

Previous Scholarship Winners


  • Barkmeier-Tice Scholarship - Haakon Larsen; Lucas Zach-Ryan
  • Arthur A. Collins Scholarship - Tiffney Grimes, Levin Leesemann
  • AI/Machine Learning Scholarship (Collins Aerospace) - Mitchell Hermon; Raymond Yang
  • Outstanding Performance/Achievement Scholarship (Collins Aerospace) - Dominique Badajoz; Toby Hollis
  • Frank A. Park Scholarship - Sabrina Hubbard; Thomas Nguyen
  • David Spang Award - Lucas Rochester
  • Principal Scholars Award - Abrahm Rohwer; Rachelle Toniny
  • Jason & Leslie Weber Scholarship for Women - Sarah Altemeier
  • Gerard Weeg Scholarship - Kate Doolittle; Pamela Moya
  • CS Outstanding TA Awards 2020-21 - Osama Khalid; Isha Panvalkar
  • Academic Excellence in the Masters Program Awards 2021-22Rob Lorch; Abdal Mohamed

CLAS Scholarships

The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences supports numerous scholarships through the college's annual scholarship competition. For a list of scholarships available in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and information on applying for scholarships, visit the CLAS Scholarships page.