Articles from September 2023

Aerial shot of U of Iowa Pentacrest, centered on historic Old Capitol building - and home to U of Iowa Computer Science - with text "We're hiring!" in a speech bubble.

Faculty Positions, Fall 2024

The University of Iowa Computer Science Department invites applications for applications for multiple tenure- and instructional-track positions effective August 2024.

Jiang et al. received NSF grants for developing new parallel programming tools

Wednesday, September 20, 2023
The projects, entitled "Towards A Unified Memory-centric Computing System with Cross-layer Support" and "A Fine-Grained Hierarchical Memory Management System for Applications with Dynamic Memory Demand on GPUs" aim to address the memory performance bottleneck for data-centric applications and develop a new memory management system to facilitate the development of dynamic-memory applications on GPUs, respectively.

Hankyu Jang awarded Competitive Fall '23 Fellowship

Thursday, September 14, 2023
PhD candidate Hankyu Jang has received Ballard and Seashore Dissertation Fellowship for Fall 2023.
Group picture of UIowaCS faculty, inc. three recent additions.

Department welcomes three new faculty members

Tuesday, September 12, 2023
The Department of Computer Science at the University of Iowa welcomes Mehrdad Moharrami, Sourya Roy, and Rahul Singh to its faculty. Their research interests include reinforcement learning, pseudorandomness, and biomedicine. Please join us in welcoming them!
Collage of 2023-24 UIowaCS Scholarship Recipients

Celebrating 2023-24 Scholarship Award Recipients

Thursday, September 7, 2023
The University of Iowa Department of Computer Science recognizes this academic year’s scholarship recipients: Frank A. Park Scholarship - Tinh Tran Arthur A. Collins Scholarship - Kate Doolittle Principal Scholars Award - Tran Jasmine, Oliver Papay Gerard Weeg Scholarship - Zack Mulholland Jason & Leslie Weber Scholarship for Women - Lauren Bernstein Jason & Leslie Weber Emerging Technologies Scholarship - Luke Moenning; David Roth Barkmeier Tice 2023-24 - Dayne Cordray; Anna Davis Sheets Fellowship 2023-24 - Sage Binder