News

Psychology, Computer Science research on safe texting featured

Wednesday, June 25, 2014
"UI virtual lab to focus on texting pedestrians. Hank Virtual Environment Lab simulates real world dangers to study pedestrian and cyclist behaviors."...

The UI Departments of Computer Science and Dance present: U of iRobot

Wednesday, April 30, 2014
Please join us for the culmination of the UI's interdisciplinary "Dancing Robots" course: Demonstration Tuesday, May 6;...

2014 Hawkeye Challenge Programming Competition

Thursday, April 10, 2014
The 2014 Hawkeye Challenge Programming Competition was held Saturday, April 5, on the University of Iowa campus in Iowa City.

Rug-cutting Robots Highlighted in UI News

Monday, February 24, 2014
"You’ve probably seen people dancing “the robot,” all stiff limbs and sudden stops—but how about robots dancing like people? Meet Amanda.

Israel Neuman Awarded Best Paper

Monday, August 19, 2013
CS graduate student Israel Neuman received the best paper award at the 2013 International Computer Music Conference in Perth, Australia.

Best Student Paper Awarded at CBMS 2013

Friday, June 21, 2013
A paper presented at the CBMS 2013 annual meeting (Computer-Based Medical Systems), taking place June 20-22 in  Portugal, has been honored with the Best Student Paper Award.  The paper, "...

Kasturi Varadarajan named CLAS Collegiate Scholar

Wednesday, March 27, 2013
Congratulations to Professor Kasturi Varadarajan for his selection as a Collegiate Scholar in the College of Liberal Arts and Science for 2013.  Only two 2013 Collegiate Scholars were chosen.

Scholarship Recipients for 2012-13 Announced

Tuesday, December 11, 2012
Please join the Computer Science Department in applauding the achievements of these outstanding student scholars:...

New Cluster a Gift from State Farm Insurance

Thursday, December 6, 2012
We are pleased to announce a gift of $40,000 from State Farm Insurance to benefit students enrolled in computationally intensive CS classes.

Daniel Reed, CS Professor and VP for Research & Economic Development, interviewed for IowaNow

Wednesday, November 14, 2012
Daniel Reed, CS Professor and VP for Research & Economic Development was interviewed about his new position in IowaNow.